Shy sister thinks she can’t sing !

My sister has a beautiful voice (she’s the pretty singer, I’m the nerdy writer). So, what did I do? I secretly filmed her singing ‘Skinny Love’ by Birdy and uploaded it to YouTube! How else was I supposed to get others to hear her sing?

Here’s the video (I apologise for the bad quality, I’m a writer not a vLogger!):

Here’s a little background story about the whole thing: My sister gets really nervous just at the thought of singing in front of other people. In fact, for quite a while she would only ever sing in front of me. I did blog about this a few months ago, but removed the post as I was a bit worried my sister would find my blog and realise what I’d done… but the cat’s out of the bag.

We’d always joked about uploading a video of her singing to YouTube, but I don’t think my sister actually thought I would be game enough to do it.

I uploaded the video 5 months ago and nothing happened. It got a few initial views and then hovered at around 600. At that point I couldn’t keep quiet any more, and I admitted to my sister that I’d uploaded a public video of her singing to YouTube – for anyone to see. She was OK with it for the most part – I mean, it only had 600 views.

About a week ago I checked the video again. It had skyrocketed to 1,000 views in just a few days! And guess what?  My sister sent me a message on the weekend telling me that it’s now above 6,000 views! Like, far out.

Since I posted the video my sister participated in a karaoke night and she actually got up there in front of a crowd and sung for the first time! I’m devastated that I wasn’t there (I was away in Canada). I wish I could have seen her singing up there on stage – apparently she did so well the crowd requested more, and she ended up doing around 10 songs.

Anyway, I’d love to hear what you all think of her singing! I wish she knew that she has a really lovely voice.

Now after this slight diversion, I’m going to head back to my NaNoWriMo writing – 200 words to go for today!

🙂

UPDATE – 2016 views

Update 21st nov: 10,000

Update 14th Dec: 13,000

Update 19th Dec: 14,000

UPDATE – 2017 views

Update 1st Jan: 17,000

Update 3rd Jan: 18,000

Update 12th Jan: 21,000

Update 13th Jan: 27,000

Update 14th Jan: 30,000

Update 20th Jan: 34,000

42 thoughts on “Shy sister thinks she can’t sing !

      1. Now I want that autograph before she gets famous lol. Sometimes we don’t need lessons to be creative. Same with writing. I believe Capote said that once. You can’t learn how to write in university, you either got it or don’t.

        Like

  1. Happy Anniversary, Millie, and thanks for following Words by K. Alan. (@kalanleitchauthor). There’s a special place in a guy’s heart for his first follower, you know. I’m hoping to get some comments in soon about my views of the writing process and industry, so I can start to refine my approach. I like your book cover, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. She is wonderfully talented! That is so great to hear that she is facing her fears now and taking the stage. Not an easy thing to do. I think it is awesome how supportive you are of your sister. More people would be lucky to have siblings like that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely voice! I am so glad your sister has gained some confidence and sang in front of others. I was happy to add to her YouTube video views. And Happy WordPress Anniversary to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, thanks you for the like on my character sketches. I’m the author of “Sojourn,” and upcoming science fiction series and I just wanted to ask you if you wanted to check the first chapter of my book out on Amazon. It’s written under the name ” Fidus Jungsturm.” Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

